Month: March 2014

  • This Place Is Not The Same

    I haven’t been around much since. . . Well, since Xanga changed.

    I come on Xanga maybe once a week or less, and sometimes post something. It was really weird for me at first because for a long time the first website I visited when I got online was Xanga. I’ve had my account since 2005 and it was my blogging home. It was where I felt I could be me, where I felt I could free express my opinions, and share my experiences. That changed for me in 2012 due to a blogger who wasn’t very nice. Even when I felt I had to be careful with what I posted, I still stayed because of the friends I made on here. Also, because there was no other blogging website like Xanga.

    I’ll admit I didn’t like the drama. I didn’t like the bloggers who would attack others and get away with it. In my opinion, a lot of the drama that happened and the bloggers who attacked others could have been stopped, but I just think the Xanga Team didn’t care about stopping that stuff.

    But even though there was drama and some not so nice bloggers, there were (and still are) good people on Xanga. That is why I stayed and have even continued to visit, even if it is just to leave some comments.

    But Xanga just isn’t the same. Xanga just isn’t Xanga anymore.

    I’ve never wanted Xanga to shut down, but I hate to see it in the state that it is in.

    You know, Open Diary, a blogging website that opened in 1998, shut down in the beginning of February. Open Diary was a lot like Xanga in the way of their community. It wasn’t a popular blogging website, at least not anymore, but still had a number of people who loved it and stayed for the community, for the friends they made.

    The creator of Open Diary abandoned it about two years. One guy was running it, that I think was a volunteer, and when it was announced that they would be closing, the creator said there would be two weeks until it shut down. It shut down 10 days later, they e-mailed no one and a lot of people didn’t get a chance to even down their posts. The only people who knew about the shut down were the regulars that logged on often.

    I had a blog on there, to try it out, and I liked it because it felt similar to Xanga. I was sad to see it go, and thought it wrong of the creator to make the announcement, and not give people much time. However, I can’t say that I wished they would have tried something to keep it around. It’s very clear the creator cared nothing for Open Diary anymore. So, while I think it should have stayed a bit longer to give people a chance to download their posts, at least the loyal users of Open Diary don’t have to watch their favorite blogging website become something they don’t even recognize.

    Xanga was once a great place, but it has changed so much, and not for the better. It seem to me, like the creator of Open Diary, the Xanga Team doesn’t care about this place anymore.

    It seems us, the users, care more about it than they do. I just hate to see what has happened to Xanga. But I think the users of Open Diary are lucky to not have to see the same happen with their blogging website.

    I’ll always have my memories of Xanga, the old Xanga. And I’ve made sure to stay in contact with the friends I’ve made here.

    I won’t be on here regular like I used to be, but I’ll still pop in sometimes to comment, or post. And I guess I’ll do that until my subscription is up, or unless they decide to shut Xanga down.

    Where I blog regular now is WordPress. If you have a blog on there, or plan to make one, and want to follow me, here is the link to my blog: http://cherokeewriter.wordpress.com