Month: April 2013

  • Christmas Cactus

    This is a picture I took a while ago and have been meaning to post it, but I keep forgetting to. It is one of my Christmas Cactus, as you can see, it was blooming at the time. It looks so nice with flowers on it, which is why I took the picture.
    Hope you all like the picture as well.
  • National Poetry Month

    I know that April is national poetry month. I haven’t been sharing any new poems since I save them for submitting, but I figured I would share some poems I’ve posted before. I’ll link to them in this post.

    These are the poems I could find. I think a few are missing, but I hope you all will enjoy the ones I’ve found.
  • A New Week

    It’s Monday already. The weekend just seemed to go so fast. The weekend was kind of busy for me. Went out to eat both Saturday and Sunday. I also went to Wal-mart, K-mart and Big Lots over the weekend.

    When I was home, I was cleaning and going through stuff. Finding things I don’t want anymore so I can sell them. One of my neighbor’s is having a yard sale in two weeks and asked if we had anything we wanted to sell. So I started going through things right away to find stuff to sell. I still have some more to go through yet. I plan on selling some of my Dreamcatchers at the yard sale too. 
    And when I had time to relax over the weekend, I was reading. I’ve read 92 books so far this year. 
    I want to make some more crafts this week. I need to finish a pair of earrings I started making. I’ll post a picture of them when I’ve finished them.
    How was everyone’s weekend?
  • Need Questions

    I’m sure most of you know I run the blog called The Weekly Question. I started it since Xanga no longer does featured questions.

    Well, pretty soon I will be running out of questions to post on Mondays. I would appreciate if you all could submit some questions to that blog. Click here to submit your questions.
    Tomorrow I will have a new question up on The Weekly Question.
  • Tired

    I don’t really know what to blog about as I’m feeling tired. Not long ago, I finished some cleaning I was doing and going through stuff as well. I’m going through stuff and seeing what I don’t want anymore so I can get rid of it. 

    I vacuumed and threw away some stuff that wasn’t need anymore. 
    I was also going through my books (have a big box of them because I don’t have enough bookshelves for all of my books) because I was looking for a book I want to read and haven’t found it yet. It’s around here somewhere, but I’m done looking for now. I’ll look again for it later.
    Don’t have any plans for this weekend. My boyfriend works today and Sunday. 
    Next Friday is Mount Joy library’s book sale and I’m looking forward to that. 
    Right now I’m just relaxing and watching Falling Skies before I decide to go to bed. 
    Hope you all have a nice weekend. Hopefully I’ll have a more interesting post for tomorrow.
  • Have Libraries Had Their Day?

    I dearly love the library. I go to my local library at least two times a week. I go to the Hershey library over the summer for their reading program. But I’ve also been to the Mount Joy library to borrow books and go see an author. I’ve been to the Middletown library for a ghost tour they do since the place is haunted and their annual book sale. And I go to every library book sale I know about. I get books I want and it helps support the libraries.

    I got my first library card when I was 13, I believe. There are three books I remember borrowing after getting my first library card: After The First Death by Robert Cormier, Incident at Loring Groves by Sonia Levitin and The Boy on the Cover by Phoebe Matthews. All three books I enjoyed, Incident at Loring Groves becoming a favorite and not too long after borrowing those books, I bought a book called Tenderness by Robert Cormier.
    And of course, over the many years that I’ve used the library, I have discovered many authors that have become favorites. For example, Diana Wynne Jones. I borrowed Howl’s Moving Castle from Hershey library in May of 2009 and a month later, I went to Borders to buy my own copy and another books of hers. Through the library I have also discovered Lois Duncan, Joan Lowery Nixon, Betty Ren Wright and many others. I also own books by them now.
    So I couldn’t imagine my life without the library.
    However, a few months ago I read an article about author Terry Deary. He is the author of Horrible Histories books. I have heard his books are good and thought at some point that I would read a few. But Mr. Deary believes that libraries have had their day. He thinks they have been around too long and are no longer relevant.
    He said that he is not attacking libraries, but rather, the concept behind libraries. He said that because it’s been 150 years (the UK first got free public libraries in 1850) and people think they are entitled to free books at the expense of authors, publishers and tax payers. To read the rest of the article click here.
    I don’t know much about Terry Deary and I haven’t read any of his books. But I do know many authors in the UK have been trying to save their libraries there. Philip Pullman is one of the authors helping to save the libraries in the UK.
    But it has been similar here in Pennsylvania. Some libraries have lost funding, some have even closed. My local library has lost quite a bit of funding, but they seem to be doing okay, thanks to the library patrons going to their coffee shop, book sales, renting new DVDs and many other things they do to raise money. Middletown lost funding from their borough because the borough thinks the library should be self-sufficient.
    As a reader and a writer, I love the library. It’s been a place for me to go and spend the day, a place for me to find many wonder books and authors, a place for me to go to events and even meet authors. I truly think libraries are important and as someone who is writing a book trilogy, I know when they are published, I would love for my books to go into libraries. Would people be reading my books for free? Of course, but it would also be a way for people to discover my books. I could get fans and sales that way. I know I’ve bought many books from authors I originally discovered from borrowing their books at the library.
    To me, libraries are amazing places, places of discovery and knowledge. If libraries were to disappear, I do not think it would be a good thing. I hope that there will always be libraries around.
    What is your opinion of what Terry Deary said? Have libraries had their day? Is it time for them to go?
  • Good And Evil

    I’ve read about what happened in Boston. I just know from what I’ve read on here as I don’t really watch or read the news online all that much. But when things like this happen, it’s always sad. How can someone hurt another human? How is that even possible? I will never be able to understand it because I could never hurt a human, or any living being, for that matter. 

    But I always try to be positive, even when bad things happen. It can be hard sometimes and I will admit, I’ve definitely been disappointed in humanity. There is good and evil in this world, but I like to believe there is more good than evil. I also don’t think that anyone is born evil, or bad. 
    Everyone has things happen to them in their life as a child, teenager and adult that shape who they are. Especially as a child. What happens to you as a child can shape who you are as a person. I just think these people who harm others, themselves have been harmed in some way at some point in their life. It doesn’t excuse their actions though. People know right from wrong, but who knows what has happened to those people? Whatever event happened to their life to shape them into something not very good.
    I think it is sad all around, for the victims and those who do the harming. It is something they will have to live with here and in the afterlife. 
    But even with all the tragedies, evil and bad people in the world, I just can’t believe that people or the world is mostly evil. It sometimes may seem that way, but I don’t think it is the case. I think in times like this it is important to look for good and be grateful for the good in your life and the people who love you.
    So I  am going to list some good in my life.
    I am thankful for my friends on Xanga. Although I have had some bad experiences and there are some not very nice people on here, I know the majority of the users are good.
    My boyfriend, who I’ve been with for 7 wonderful years.
    And my silly little hamsters.
    Feel free to list some good stuff in your life as well.
  • Most Wanted Books This Year

    I usually do a post about my most wanted book of the year, but this year, it is books. The list contains books that are not yet released, but are ones that I am eagerly awaiting. All book covers were found on Google image search.

    The Last Apprentice: I Am Alice by Joseph Delaney. It is book number 12 in the series and it releases in September. I’m actually thinking of pre-ordering this when it gets closer to be released. I don’t know if I want to wait for the library to get it after it is released and plus, I just love the series. I am so excited to read this one and continue the story. I don’t know what I’m going to do once this series is finished.
    Dork Diaries 6: Tales from a Not-So-Happy-Heartbreaker by Rachel Renee Russell. This book releases in June. I just love these books. They are so funny.
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid #8 by Jeff Kinney. The cover hasn’t been revealed yet and it releases in November. The series is funny and I really like it.
    Debutante Hill by Lois Duncan. It releases in September and it is one of older, out of print books being republished. I just love Lois Duncan so I can’t wait for this.
    What are some of your most wanted books of this year?
  • Blogging And Writing

    For a year now, I’ve been having trouble thinking of what to blog about on here. It’s not even that I don’t have things I want to write about. I do, but as some of you know, last year in April I shared something personal and had some negative reactions on here. Someone even went as far as writing a blog post to make fun of me. 

    I still love to blog on Xanga. I’ve been blogging on here for quite awhile and have made some wonderful friends on here. I can’t ever see myself leaving here. I have years of blogging on here, years of pictures and memories. 
    But that experience kind of made me shut down. That’s the best way I can explain it. I still love writing on here, but I don’t get as personal as I used, I don’t share my thoughts and opinions like I used to. I miss doing that, but I don’t feel ready to go back to writing like that again on here. I don’t feel ready to share myself publicly like that again quite yet. I hope that makes sense.
    I know there are others on Xanga that feel as I do. They’ve had some bad experiences on here as well and tend to not post anything very personal anymore either.
    So I know I don’t blog as I used to. I don’t even know if my posts are even any good anymore. But one day, I think I will be able to write like I used to on here. When I’m ready.
    One thing I have learned from my experience is that I’m not going to put up with anything like that on here again. I am not a mean person. I don’t like being mean to people, but I don’t think there is anything wrong with standing up for myself.
    And as for sharing my writing on here again, I know a lot of you have asked about that. I don’t share my poems or stories on here anymore for a reason. They are all saved for submitting to places. If I were to post them on here, they would be considered published. Most magazines and publishing companies wouldn’t accept my writing because they would consider it already published. It sucks, I know, but that is why I don’t share my writing anymore. I want to keep it and submit to places. Whenever any of my writing is accepted, I will make sure to post about it on though.
    I just wanted to share this with all of you. So now you will understand why I don’t blog like I used to. And why I don’t share my writing. I’ve always enjoyed sharing my poems and stories, but I want to be able to have writing credits and make writing my career so I have to keep what I write for submitting.
  • Cute Picture of Bulma

    I’m not sure if I’ve shared this picture before, but it’s one of my favorites I’ve taken of Bulma. She’s eating a carrot. I entered this picture into a cute pet picture contest yesterday. I hope it wins.
    Bulma is definitely cute, so she has a good chance of winning, I think :)