July 1, 2013

  • Xanga Memories: First Short Story

    I’ve been writing since I was 12. At around 13/14 is when I decided what I wanted to do with my life is become an author. Throughout my teenage years I wrote short stories, songs, poems and was even writing a few books that I never finished. For a few years I stopped writing. And that was because of what an author said to me. I showed him one of my short stories and he told me I’d never be a writer. 

    Well, to hear that was crushing and eventually, I stopped writing. I began writing again after becoming a fan of Diana Wynne Jones and finding that I love fantasy very much and wanted to write it myself.
    However, I was still afraid to show anyone my work, especially after what the author said to me. But in April 2010, I decided to face my fear and share a short story I wrote on Xanga. I was very nervous. I was worried. What if no one liked it? What if I was told I was a terrible writer? 
    But I did post it. It was the first short story, or any of my writing, that I shared on here. And although I didn’t get many comments, I got a few very nice ones that encouraged me to continue writing.
    I know I don’t share my writing on here anymore since I save it for submitting to places. But posting a short story on here helped me get over my fears of people reading my work. I know not everyone will like my writing, but that’s okay and it hasn’t stopped me from submitting my writing.
    Through blogging, I was able to overcome my fear of people not liking what I write. And now I write with the intention of wanting as many people to read it as possible. So for me, posting my first short story on Xanga is a good memory.
    And if you’re curious about the story, I’ll post the link. I don’t think it is my best work, but it’s a nice story and my writing has improved since posting that story in 2010. But even with its flaws, if any of you read it, I hope you will enjoy it.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *