June 18, 2013

  • Xanga Memories: Featured Blog

    I know some of the newer users on Xanga probably won’t know about the Featured Blogs, but some of you who have been around for awhile do. 

    I remember many people submitted their posts for a chance to be featured. And it was an exciting thing, at least for me, when one of my posts was chosen. 
    I remember the first time when one of my posts were featured. It was featured April 2009 and It was called Light Skin Vs. Dark Skin. It was about something I had read on a message board that I used to go on regular. It was my first Featured Blog and it was exciting for me. So many people read it and I got over 100 comments! That was a lot for me. It also had over 4,000 views. It was just all very exciting. I never had that many views or comments before.
    So many people read what I wrote and it was just. . . amazing. Even if this is only a blog, having people read what you write, commenting and such is just wonderful. 
    I don’t know how others felt about being featured. But being a writer, I was just so happy to have people reading what I wrote.
    Even now, if there were still Featured Blogs were still around, I think I would still get just as excited being featured.
    Do you remember Featured Blogs? Were you ever featured?.  

Comments (15)

  • I don’t remember Featured Blogs.

    April 2009 was the month I first started at Xanga.

  • Pity that Xanga will be close soon, eh …

  • I remember featured blogs but I was never featured.

  • Wow, that’s awesome.

  • Did they stop doing that? I thought it was still going on. Shows how much I’ve been working. I wanted to be featured at one time, but I didn’t feel like I had anything good to say that was worth it. I’ve been on Xanga since 2003, so I definitely remember that . . . And apparently still thought it was 2003, lol

  • @Sherrie_de_Valeria - I wouldn’t count your chickens before they hatch.    They are halfway there, they might still make it. 

  • Dear Eden,

    We writers just want to be read. Great memory.Only thing missing is the link to the entry.  I loved getting featured, but back when I personally “answered” each comment I received, some of which could get quite long, returning 200 or 300 comments could become a bit of a chore. Michael F.Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • nafydosi@yahoo.com
    Hello
    How are you today, I hope all is well with you,
    My name is Miss Nafy Dosi ,i am a single girl never been married,i saw your profile in this http://thexangateam.xanga.com site  i am interested in having a relationship with you, I will also like to know you the more, please kindly write to me through this my private email i have something very important i want to discuss with you (nafydosi@yahoo.com)i will  send to you more details about myself Including my picture,
    Yours Sincerely
    Miss Nafy Dosi   nafydosi/yahoo/com

  • I agree that it’s great to get read by people other than the people who are around you and you can guilt them into reading it! Oh, maybe I’m the only one who does that!

  • I don’t remember and I don’t know if I was featured. Oh well.

  • James. if you, thought Edith`s report is impossible… on sunday I got a great Fiat Multipla since I been making $4846 this munth and even more than ten k last munth. this is definitely the best-job I’ve ever done. I began this 4 months ago and almost straight away startad earning more than $74 per-hr. I follow the details here, … http://www.BBC13.com

  • I remember featured blogs! Reading them was a joy! And I remember getting featured. I’m so glad YOU were featured with the post you mentioned! I think it’s cool that so many people got to read your post!
    HUGS!!!

  • I like the current system better.  It is better to let a computer pick.  Under that system, the same people were picked while others were left out.  Remember when they featured your hamster post.  No offense but even you knew that was probably not the best post of the day.  But the xanga team liked you so you were picked while some of us were told we would never be featured.  It felt political.  At least now it is back in the hands of the users based on their comments, recommends, and views.  It sucks when things are taken out of the hands of the people and put in the hands of an elitist class.

  • @adamswomanback - Thanks. What post of yours was featured?

    @lily_scarlet - Yeah, I think the Featured Blogs have been gone for 2 or 3 years now. Thanks for the rec.
    @baldmike2004 - I agree, us writers just want to be read. Whenever I got a bunch of comments on my posts, it took quite a while to reply to everyone. Thank you for the rec.

    @atticusfin - Sorry you weren’t featured.

    @DraculVanHelsing - Featured Blogs used to be on the front page, where the Top Blogs are now.

    @Sherrie_de_Valeria - Yeah, either that or it will go to pay to blog.

  • You are one of the GREAT bloggers of Xangaland! I love your variety…you always post very creative, clever, fun, thought-provoking posts! You have always added fun and kindness to this place! I appreciate YOU!!!
    HUGS!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *