June 24, 2013

  • New Diana Wynne Jones Book!

    March 2011 one of my favorite authors, Diana Wynne Jones, passed away. She was 76. The last book she was able to get published was sent into her publishers a few days before she died, I remember reading a few years back.


    It was Earwig and the Witch, a children’s book. It was released in the UK June 9th, 2011. Released in America, January 31st, 2012. I had pre-ordered it a number of weeks beforehand. Besides that, there was a another book being published called Reflections which contained articles about written that she wrote throughout her career for different magazines. It wasn’t a book written by her, but just one put together of articles she had written over the years. So Earwig and the Witch was to be her final book.


    It was sad to think it would be the last Diana Wynne Jones book. No more stories would be coming from such a wonderful author. I had accepted that fact. Earwig and the Witch would be it. And it is such a wonderful book. Sure, it is for children, but I quite enjoyed it. If Diana were still alive, I could see that becoming the first of a series.


    However, there was another book. One that was almost finished, but Diana wasn’t able to write an ending for before her passing. There was a conference last year to celebrate her life. It was hosted by Diana’s family and friends. I would have so much-loved to go, but it was in the UK. Anyway, this book, the one that was almost finished except for an ending, some of it was read at the conference. From what I read online from people who went to the conference, the book was wonderful, what they heard of it being read.


    Diana’s sister, Ursula Jones, did say she might try to write an ending for it, but wasn’t sure. Well, a few days ago it was announced that there would indeed be another Diana Wynne Jones book. Ursula Jones had written an ending for it.


    The book is called The Islands of Chaldea and it releasing next year February 27th in the UK, the very next day in America. As soon as I can pre-order it from Amazon, I will.


    You can read more at the Publishers Weekly article. And it also seems that Diana’s family is looking into the rest of her archive. I suppose if there are more stories almost finished, they might eventually find their way into publication also.


    I am just so excited. I cannot wait for the book!

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *