April 12, 2013

  • Books-A-Million

    I went to a Books-A-Million on Wednesday. I had been in one before, a very small one that was located in a mall. They didn't have a very good selection of books, but since the store was small, it wasn't surprising that the selection wasn't that great.

    But the Books-A-Million I went to on Wednesday is a much larger location and before Books-A-Million was there, it was a Borders. I remember the last time I went into the Borders. It was after the announcement of Borders closing and so they were discounting everything. So many people were there. The store was crowded, very noisy and hot because they had shut the air conditioners off. They even closed the bathrooms off to customers. It was honestly kind of chaotic. People were shouting, running around and items laying on the floor. It was definitely different to a Borders store like that. However, I went to the Borders in Lancaster before they closed and it was peaceful there. The store was clean and there were a lot of people there, but they weren't loud or running around. I still miss Borders. It was where I discovered the two books that gave me my love of reading.
    Books-A-Million is nice though. It kind of has a Borders feel to it, if that makes any sense. I like Barnes and Noble too, but Borders was always my favorite. I think Books-A-Million will probably become my next favorite, but it will never completely replace Borders.
    I bought a book while I was there though. I was looking through the bargain section and found The Last Apprentice: Clash of the Demons by Joseph Delaney. As most of you know, this is one of my favorite book series. I've read all the books up to the newest one. Clash of the Demons is book number 6, so I have read it. But I did not have my own copy of it. The only book in the series I own is the first one and slowly, I want to buy all the books so I own them. So I found book 6 and it was a hardcover, for $3.97. I bought it. I just had to. The price was very good and I just love the series.
    I enjoyed my visit to Books-A-Million and was very happy to come home with a book from one of my favorite series.
    Have you ever been to a Books-A-Million? What is your favorite book store?

Comments (6)

  • I don't particularly have a favorite bookstore. I love to go into both the big name ones that have a wide selection, and a coffee area where I can sit with a cup of tea and read and observe people, but I also love the small eclectic second hand stores or mom and pops type b/c it it helping the economy of the common people and there is usually a friendly atmostphere and good customer service in the smaller ones as there is less patronage and they try hard to earn your repeat business.

    I am amazed at the story you tell of the Borders with no AC or bathrooms and books on the floor and people running around. I don't think I would've enjoyed that visit. I love books, but am not that desparate for them. There are so many out there, I needn't put myself in any harm to obtain one, even at a discount. (that's how I feel about 'black Friday' sales too)

  • I've never heard of a Books-a-Million.
    It's great that you got a book in a series you like!
    I don't know of a bookstore I don't like! If stores have books, I love looking at them! Some of the little bookstores are really fun. And of the bigger ones, I like Hastings and Borders.
    HUGS!!!

  • We used to have several books a million in the area but they all closed years ago.  It was a nice store.  My favorite bookstore is a used bookstore.  It's always like a treasure hunt every time I go in ~ the selection of books is always different.

  • Yes, I've been to a Books-A-Million. It was nice, but unfortunately they closed. Borders was really cool; it's a shame they are not around anymore. My favorite bookstore probably is Barnes and Noble, but I'd say most bookstores are pretty cool! :)

  • @making_a_comeback_05 - Sorry to hear that they closed. I'd never even seen a Books-A-Million until the Borders stores closed down. I had heard of Books-A-Million, but I don't think there were any in my area before. Once Borders closed, I know Books-A-Million bought some the former Borders stores.

    All bookstores are definitely great. I just have wonderful memories of Borders. It's where my mom used to take me to get books to read. It's where I got The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton and Slam! by Walter Dean Myers, which are the two books that got me into reading. I even bought my copy of Howl's Moving Castle at Borders. Borders just really has a lot of great memories for me and I miss it. Thanks for the rec.
    @atticusfin - Used bookstores are great too. I have two in my town, one is owned by the library and I've found many, many books there. Another is a used bookstore that opened a few years ago. They are nice too, but very small. 

    @Crystalinne - That was at the Borders in York, Pennsylvania. The Borders in Lancaster, Pennsylvania wasn't like that at all. It was very calm and people weren't going crazy. They hadn't closed the bathrooms or turned off the AC either. So I was surprised when I went to the one in York and all that was happening.

    @adamswomanback - I've never been to a Hastings. I don't think there are any where I live. And all bookstores, or places with books are great. Ollie's is a discount store and they have a big book section, where a lot of brand new books are sold for cheap. 

  • @Shining_Garnet - You're welcome for the rec! I have fond memories of Borders as well. I had never seen a bookstore like it before the first time I went into one. The variety of their selection of books really impressed me when I was younger.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *