June 13, 2013

  • Xanga Memories: First Friend

    I figured over the course of the next month, I would some of my Xanga memories. I joined Xanga in 2005 and it was because of my friend. She was the only person I knew on here and later she left. I think she went to Myspace. After that, I was able to get a few people I knew to join, but they later left too. I don’t think they were much into blogging.

    So for the first few years I was on here, I was pretty much alone. I didn’t come on here every day, but I would sign on and blog some, update my profile, change my theme, etc. It wasn’t until late 2008/early 2009 that I began exploring the website. I found the blogrings, the metros (in case anyone doesn’t remember the metros, it was a way to find people who live near or in the same town as you.), there a page which showed new users (I miss that) and back in 2009 whenever someone wrote a new pulse, it showed up on the front page.
    How I found my very first Xanga friend was from when the pulses were on the front page. @Kitt_Raptor was my first Xanga friend. She wasn’t a popular blogger and had actually only signed up in January 2009. I sent her a friend request, she accepted and we began commenting on each others posts.
    She was very nice and an understanding person. I liked reading and commenting on her posts and then seeing her comments on mine. She stopped posting in February 2009 and I haven’t seen her on here since. I don’t know whatever happened to her, why she stopped blogging. And although we knew each other for about a month, I miss her. It’s been over 4 years since her last update, but I’m still subscribed to her in hopes that she might return. I’d love to be able to reconnect with her and find out how she is doing. But I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to do that since I’m not sure how I would find her. I just know I’ll always remember her as being very nice and as my first Xanga friend.
    After her, I did find more friends. I found LilSweetJew (who is no longer on Xanga, but I still talk to), @Shinbi_Belldandy and @sentimentalvalue, both of whom still blog and I talk to. My very first friend may have disappeared, but three more came and have stayed. They are all great friends.
    The four people mentioned in my blog were some of the first friends I made on Xanga and I am grateful to have met them through this website. 
    Who was your first Xanga friend? Do they still blog on here? Are you still in contact with them?

Comments (10)

  • My first friend was Margo…78, I think. She later changed her name to beauty_is_truths_smile…or something similar. I haven’t seen her on here much in the last few years, I’m not even sure she still is, but she made the first few months here…fun! 

  • My first xanga friend and I are the closest. She requested me when I joined in 2010. We talk every day, through texts and such. I can’t imagine where I’d be without her. I feel so lucky to have found such a great friend.

  • Aw you’re sweet, and this post is so… so… -why is xanga ending feelings- <- that’s what it is. You’re really my only xanga friend that still uses this site.

  • There are some folks here at xanga that have the same followers and often that is enough to propel them to top blogs.

    I always thought that you get featured enough at top blogs that I don’t have to subscribe to you. It is good you now have a diverse audience to read your blog and get the ball rolling on a certain topic like first experiences.
    Would I rather have a diverse audience than the same old group? Yes it is good to go outside of my own close circles and go exploring.

  • This was fun and interesting to read! I’m glad you found Xanga and I got to meet you  here! The first people to welcome me here, and became my friends, were Larry, Joe, Ron, Phil, Alicia and Lela. None of them are blogging on Xanga now. But I still hear from a few of them. They read my very first post and made me feel at home here. And there are too many other friends to name…but MANY people have been so kind to me over the years!
    HUGS!!!

  • I enjoyed reading your post.  Wish I’d found you sooner.   I came on Xanga, because my daughter encouraged me.   She never posts on here any more….always on Facebook.   I can’t remember, but I suppose she was my first ‘friend’.   I met others through her blog, and have met several folks personally.  They were all nice folks.   They’ve stayed at my home, and I’ve stayed at theirs.  I’m in central Illinois.  They’re in Texas,3,  OK.,1,  Missouri,1,  N.M,1,  AZ. 1, and Kansas, 1..   A couple of times, folks were traveling through, and I met them at the local diner.  It’s been a good experience.  I write for my diary, then post it on Xanga.

  • My first Xanga friend, not including a family member was Pray14me.

  • @GrannyHummingbird - Yes, I’m sorry we didn’t find each other sooner and I’m glad you enjoyed my post. The person who encouraged me to blog on here is gone too. I think she actually shut down her site a long time ago, but I stayed. I’m glad you were able to meet some nice people on here.

    @adamswomanback - It seems a lot of peoples first Xanga friend/friends don’t blog much or at all. It happens, I guess. Some people get tired of stuff and move on to what’s new. It’s good they made you feel welcome and you still hear from a few of them.

    I’ve had a lot of people on here be very kind to me over the years also. Some are still here, like you, and others just left. There were a few people that I talked to on here on a regular basis, but one day, they just shut down their blog or stopped blogging and haven’t heard from them since. It’s sad when people just leave, but I hope they are all doing okay. Maybe they just got tired of Xanga.
    @sentimentalvalue - Yes, this is why it’s sad. As you know, because of our e-mails, I’m not happy with the Xanga Team and how things are being handled. But there is a lot of memories on this website and in a way, losing the website (or even it being relaunched) is kind of like losing the memories.

  • Awwww!! You’re so sweet Eden! I’m gonna be so sad when xanga changes/shuts down! ;-;

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *